The Furrow Collective + support

  • Date: 03/11/2017
  • Time:20:00
  • Location: The New Adelphi Club
  • Venue: The Furrow Collective + support
  •  £12 Adv from HBO

The Furrow Collective. £12 Adv

The Furrow Collective is an award-winning and critically acclaimed English/Scottish band consisting of four distinctive and talented performers: Lucy Farrell (viola, voice & saw), Rachel Newton (harp, fiddle, voice), Emily Portman (banjo, concertina, voice) and Alasdair Roberts (guitars, voice). The group formed in 2013, drawn together by a shared love of traditional song and balladry of the England, Scotland and beyond and an open, intuitive approach to collaboration. In recognition of their innovative approach, The Furrow Collective were awarded the accolade of ‘Best Band’ at the 2017 BBC Radio Two Folk Awardshot on the heels of the release in late 2016 of their second album, Wild Hog (Hudson Records).

The Furrow Collective’s 2014 debut album, At Our Next Meeting (Furrow Records), was recorded with award-winning producer Andy Bell and was variously heralded as ‘a quietly triumphant set’ (The Guardian), ‘a quietly thrilling approach to traditional song'(R2 Magazine) and ‘one of the finest collaborative albums of the past few years’ (Folk Radio UK). Boasting a stripped-back power, the album led to a nomination for Best Group and Best Traditional Track in the 2015 BBC Radio Two Folk Awards and a live session on BBC Radio Two.  2015’s five-song EP Blow Out the Moon was similarly well-received, resulting in another Best Traditional Track nomination the following year.  The group’s aforementioned second album, Wild Hog (Hudson Records) shows a markeddevelopment in the group’s sound and approach, with guest musicians Alex Neilson (Trembling Bells) on drums and Stevie Jones(Sound of Yell) on double bass helping to provide fuller, richer arrangements.

The Furrow Collective tours extensively throughout the UK as well as in mainland Europe, delighting audiences with their uniquely beguiling approach to traditional song.